From the workbench redux

Way back in November, I wrote about my modelmaking, and how I’d got back into making models.

However, I neglected to mention any of the models that I’m working on. As I’ve not come across any exciting new comics this week, I thought I’d take the opportunity to talk about what I’m currently building. (I should point out that the latest issue of Zatanna is really good, though.)

Like many modellers, I’ve got a few models waiting to be built. Included in the build pile are models of the Hawker Fury and the Bristol Bulldog.

These were two of the RAF’s main fighters during the early 1930’s, when it was described as the best flying club in the world. I don’t think either of them were ever used in anger by the RAF, but I find their art deco styling and silver paint schemes very appealing. Not sure when I’ll get round to building them, though – I think I’ve had the Bulldog kit for six or seven years…

Also in the build pile is the Medusa self-propelled mortar.

This 40K kit was a Christmas present and I’m quite excited about it. It’s the first model with resin parts that I’ve ever had. (The resin is the gun in the plastic bag.)

Most models are made by injection moulding, which is suitable for large scale production. However small run kits are often made using resin instead. This allows a highly detailed parts to be made without the need to the expensive injection tooling.

Resin parts tend to be a bit chunkier than their plastic equivalents and can’t be glued together with normal model glue (which actually melts the plastic together) – you need to use superglue.

It should be interesting – I’ll keep track on the blog once I’ve started on it. 

Now we get to some models that I have actually started building.

First up are the second batch of Space Elves – sorry Eldar.

I should explain that they’ve not met with a nasty accident – it’s easier to paint them when their heads and arms aren’t attached to their bodies.

That said, their heads do look at a bit sad…

"It's Saturday night and I ain't got no body..."

They’re coming along well and just need some detailing and final assembly.

But the big project at the moment is the charmingly named Leman Russ Executioner tank. (It also comes in Demolisher, Annihilator and Exterminator varieties…)

The tracks aren’t missing because it was parked in a bad part of town – I’m going to paint them separately and them put them on at the end.

It’s another 40K model – it’s appealingly chunky, with a suitably large ray gun in the turret.

The stage I’m currently at is adding the green camouflage layer – I’ve based the camo scheme on one used by a British Valentine tank in North Africa. (Valentine is a much nicer name for a tank, isn’t it?)

Firstly, I mask off the areas I want to paint with blu tac.

Then, it’s just a matter of painting in the spaces.

And I remembered to do the turret.

All I had to do them was peel off all of the blu tac.

And the final result was this:

 There’s a fair bit still to do, but I’m pleased with how the model’s going – it should be done in a month or so.

About pointlessephemera

Blogging about the geekier end of popular culture...
This entry was posted in Models. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to From the workbench redux

  1. Alexis says:

    That’s an incredibly phallic looking gun!

  2. I just choked on my toast when I read the Saturday night line!

  3. Pingback: From the Workbench 3 – The Bank Holiday | Pointless Ephemera

  4. Pingback: The Ephemeral Year in Review – 2011 | Pointless Ephemera

Leave a Reply

