The Five Ages of Comics – Introduction

Starting with Superman’s first appearance  in 1938, super hero comics have been going for almost three-quarters of a century. Over the years, comic fans have come up with different “ages” of comics to reflect how the style and content of comics has changed over the years. (Comic fans *love* to put things into categories.)

The different characteristics of each age are partly because of changes in how comics were made, but also the result of changes in wider popular culture and society.

The ages begin with the Golden Age of the 30’s, 40’s and early 50’s, followed by the Silver Age (late 50’s and 60’s), the Bronze Age (70’s and early 80’s), the Iron Age (late 80’s and early 90’s) and the Modern Age (late 90’s onwards). 

Over the next few weeks, I’m going to take a tour of each of the ages, talking about what they mean to me and looking at comics that reflect that age. I’ll also be looking at modern comics that I think are inspired by the norms of the relevant age.

This isn’t meant to be a definitive guide – it’ll reflect my own prejudices and views (advance warning – I *hate* the Iron Age), but I hope it will be entertaining and informative.


About pointlessephemera

Blogging about the geekier end of popular culture...
This entry was posted in Comics, Five Ages of Comics. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Five Ages of Comics – Introduction

  1. Pingback: The Five Ages of Comics – The Golden Age | Pointless Ephemera

  2. Pingback: First blogiversary! | Pointless Ephemera

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s