Cocktail of the Week – Manhattan

Over time, cocktails develop variations. Different people have different ways of making the same cocktail, or someone asks for the drink to be made in a different way – hence a vodka martini being shaken, not stirred

This can be a little confusing when you’re trying a new cocktail though. For instance, I tried a Manhattan recently, which was made with Canadian rye and Campari.

I rather liked it, but when I returned home, I discovered that most recipes made it with vermouth, rather than Campari (annoyingly, after I’d bought a bottle of Campari…)

But there are variations even there – a normal Manhattan is made with sweet (red) vermouth, while a Dry Manhattan is made with dry vermouth. A Perfect Manhattan is made with a mixture of dry and sweet vermouth…

As I didn’t have any sweet vermouth, I thought I’d try a Dry Manhattan

Dry Manhattan

 2 measures rye whiskey

1 measure dry vermouth

2 dashes Angostura bitters

Add all ingredients to a cocktail shaker with lots of ice and shake vigorously. Strain and pour.

It’s an interesting taste – the sweetness of the whiskey contrasts with the herbal taste of the vermouth and the bitters. I tried it with a friend and we agreed it was a fairly formidable drink.

All I need to do now is find some classic cocktails that use Campari…

About pointlessephemera

Blogging about the geekier end of popular culture...
This entry was posted in Cocktail of the Week. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Cocktail of the Week – Manhattan

  1. Maria says:

    Ooh, I love a manhattan on a cold day. I prefer mine on the rocks though. Dont forget the marichino cherry!

  2. Argh! No cherry *or* sweet vermouth. Need to restock my cocktail cabinet. (Actually need to buy a cocktail cabinet…)

  3. Pingback: Income Tax Cocktail « FinancialSkeptic's Blog

  4. Pingback: Cocktail of the Week – Horse’s Neck | Pointless Ephemera

  5. Pingback: Cocktail of the Week – The Bronx | Pointless Ephemera

  6. Pingback: Cocktail of the Week – The Hoffman House | Pointless Ephemera

Leave a Reply

