Cocktail of the Week – The Luigi

As this cocktail experiment goes on, the contents of my cocktail cupboard are becoming more and more numerous – perhaps at some point, I’ll have to get an actual cocktail cabinet. Ideally one that looks like a globe, holding various exotic spirits in its southern hemisphere.

(No idea where I’d put it though…)

Nonetheless, my expanded range of cocktail ingredients has meant that I can try a far wider range of cocktails.

Ingredients like Cointreau and grenadine, meaning I can now make the Luigi.

Disappointingly, the Luigi isn’t named after a certain Italian plumber’s brother, but is instead named after its inventor, Luigi Naintre, who was apparently a famous restauranteur in 1920’s London, running Romano’s, Ciro’s and the Criterion. (I must confess that none of these names mean anything to me, except for sounding incredibly glamorous…)

The Luigi 

1 1/2 msr dry gin

1 1/2 msr dy vermouth

1/4 msr grenadine

Dash Cointreau

Juice of half a tangerine

Add all of the ingredients to a cocktail shaker with lots of ice, shake and strain into a cocktail glass.

I didn’t have any tangerines to hand, but I did have a carton of tangerine juice and guessed that two measures was equivalent to the juice of half a tangerine. I suspect that it was too much – while my Luigi is orange, pictures of others show them as red or pink…

It is quite sweet, with the Cointreau adding a bit of a zing – I’m not convinced I’ve got it quite right though – it will definitely need a second attempt…

About pointlessephemera

Blogging about the geekier end of popular culture...
This entry was posted in Cocktail of the Week. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Cocktail of the Week – The Luigi

  1. I’m sure you could squeeze it in the kitchen…

Leave a Reply

