Movember – Day 1

This year, I’ve decided to join some of my co-workers in growing a moustache for Movember.

“What is Movember?” I hear you cry. Well according to the website:

“Movember (the month formerly known as November) is a moustache growing charity event held during November each year that raises funds and awareness for prostate cancer.

At the start of Movember guys register with a clean shaven face. The Movember participants, known as Mo Bros, have the remainder of the month to grow and groom their Mo, raising money along the way to benefit men’s health.”

My decision has been met with understanding and support from Elinor (thankfully), appreciation by some and incredulity by others.

I’m doing it for a variety of reasons – partly it’s a fun way to raise awareness and funds for a health issue that men are notoriously reticent talking about.

It’s also curiosity – I’ve never grown a moustache before and I want to see what I look like with one. (Ideally the moustache would look like David Niven‘s but I very much doubt that’s going to happen.)

So this is me at the end of Day 1, with minimal visible growth.

Over the month, I’ll update you on my progress (don’t worry, the cocktails will continue) and will cover such important facial hair topics as “Superheroes with Moustaches”.

And if you’d like to donate anything to this hirsute adventure, you can do so here.

About pointlessephemera

Blogging about the geekier end of popular culture...
This entry was posted in Movember. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

