Cocktail of the Week – Sidecar

Regular readers will have noticed a recent lack of weekly cocktails, but I can assure you that I’ve not spent the last three weeks in a cocktail induced stupor, wracked with angst over the loss of my ‘tache…

In reality, I’ve been visiting various family members in the run up to Christmas and that’s meant that I’ve not had a chance to update my blog.

However, I have had the chance to sample several cocktails over that time and I’ll hopefully be covering them over the next few days.

First up is one that I’ve been meaning to try for a while – the Sidecar.

Some claim that this is another product of Harry’s New York Bar, while others plump for the Ritz in Paris. Legend also has it that it was the invention of a French (or American) army officer, who travelled in a sidecar to his favoured watering hole.

(As an aside, why don’t people use motorcycle sidecars anymore? Apart from the lack of roof that is.)

As a brandy-based cocktail it’s an excellent winter warmer – expect to see more of these in following blogs.

Sidecar

(Photo courtesy of Sarah)

1 1/2 msr cognac

3/4 msr Cointreau

3/4 msr lemon juice

Add all ingredients to a cocktail shaker, shake and pour into a sugar rimmed cocktail glass. (No, I don’t know how to sugar the rim of a cocktail glass – yet.)

This is similar to the White Lady I made a few weeks ago, but with less lemon and brandy/cognac instead of gin. This means that it’s considerably less tart and more warming – if I had to choose between the two, the Sidecar would win.

About pointlessephemera

Blogging about the geekier end of popular culture...
This entry was posted in Cocktail of the Week. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Cocktail of the Week – Sidecar

  1. Kirstykat says:

    My uncle has a sidecar for his bike!
    Do you not just dip the rim of glass in a saucer of sugar? A little moistened so it sticks?

  2. Maria says:

    I just realized I had no clue what was in a side car. You’ve made a wrinkle in my brain today.
    Sugaring/salting a rim: run Lemmon or lime around rim to get it wet, pour salt /sugar onto a plate, invert glass onto plate spin a little, and tada! Just have to remember to do it before you pour.

  3. Pingback: Cocktail of the Week – The Hoffman House | Pointless Ephemera

Leave a Reply

