Cocktail of the Week – Hot Toddy

This week, I’ve had a cold.

I *hate* having colds. Hate it, hate it, hate it.

However, I realise that it’s inevitable that I’ll catch the occasional cold, living in the North of Scotland and all. Also, it’s not a bad cold (I’ve been in work every day) and it’s given me the chance to try out a different kind of cocktail – the hot toddy.

This is a traditional Scottish cocktail (unsurprising, considering our weather) and, according to the poet Allan Ramsay, it was named after Tod’s Well in Edinburgh.

It’s different from all of the other cocktails I’ve made because it’s hot – there are many variants, but they should all include hot water, citrus fruit, a sweetener and some spices. This version is very traditional.

Hot Toddy

2 msr Scotch whisky

1/2 msr lemon juice

1 tsp brown sugar

3 drops Angostura Bitters

1 lemon slice, studded with cloves

Place the ingredients in a heatproof glass or mug, stir to dissolve the sugar and top up with boiling water.

The cloves and lemon make this. It’s citrus and warming at the same time. I’m not sure if it helped get rid of my cold, but it felt like it should have.

About pointlessephemera

Blogging about the geekier end of popular culture...
This entry was posted in Cocktail of the Week. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

