Cocktail of the Week – Aviation redux

For the first time (I think) in Cocktail of the Week, I’m going to revisit a cocktail I’ve done before. 

I’m not doing this because I’m lazy or uninspired – it’s because, this time, I’m going to do it right.

Regular readers may recall the Aviation, which I made as a gin sour with Maraschino. But it was missing the crème de violette that’s a traditional ingredient, but is rather difficult to get hold of.

Fortunately, my friend Kirsty was able to source a bottle and very kindly gave it to me as a birthday present!

As you can see, it’s very purple. It also smells quite strongly of parma violets, which most British people will remember from childhood.

But would it make a difference to the Aviation? There was only one way to find out…

The Aviation

2 msrs dry gin

1 msr lemon juice

1 msr Maraschino

2 tsp crème de violette

Share ingredients with ice, strain into a cocktail glass and garnish with a cherry.

There is a definite blue tinge to the cocktail – nothing blatant, but there’s a hint of sky there.

The first version I tried was very sour, but the crème de violette offsets this really well – it’s a more balanced drink. The sweet violet taste is there without being overwhelming or sickly, and it nicely complements the cherry and lemon flavours.

I can happily say that it’s a real improvement.

About pointlessephemera

Blogging about the geekier end of popular culture...
This entry was posted in Cocktail of the Week and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Cocktail of the Week – Aviation redux

  1. Pingback: Cocktail of the Week – The Holland House | Pointless Ephemera

Leave a Reply

