Cocktail of the Week – Vodka Martini

The vodka martini. Arguably the best known of all cocktails, mostly due to a certain cinematic superspy who’s been around for 50 years.

But in the year and a half that I’ve been blogging on cocktails, I’ve never featured the vodka martini. (I refuse to call it “a vodkatini”.)

Partly it’s because the vodka martini is a cliché among cocktails – ordering it is almost guaranteed to result in at least one James Bond reference.

But the other reason is that I’ve never thought of myself as a vodka fan. I suspect that the world of clear spirit drinkers divides into gin drinkers and vodka drinkers, and I’m firmly in the gin camp; I prefer the subtle botanics over the clean flavour of vodka. 

But while I was on holiday in Paris, Elinor and I went to a restaurant that gloried in the wonderful name of Les Zazzous (“The Hepcats” in French.)

On the cocktail menu was a vodka martini – but no gin martini. Throwing caution to the wind (I was on holiday, after all) I ordered a vodka martini.

It arrived, and after the inevitable “shaken, not stirred” joke, I gave it a try.

It was really good. So good, I would say it was better than a gin martini.

The cold, clean vodka is offset by the herbal taste of the vermouth. It’s complex, yet somehow very pleasing.

When I got home,  I made my own, and I’m pleased to report that the homemade version is just as good.

Vodka Martini

2 msrs vodka

1 msr dry vermouth

Add ingredients to a cocktail shaker half filled with ice. Shake until very cold. (Yes it’s a cliché, but it’s a cliché that works.) Pour into a cocktail glass and garnish with a lemon twist.

About pointlessephemera

Blogging about the geekier end of popular culture...
This entry was posted in Cocktail of the Week. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Cocktail of the Week – Vodka Martini

  1. Pauline says:

    YES! I look forward to my visit Alistair…but not for the prospect of cocktails alone.!

Leave a Reply

